Not far from the tree

You are fearfully and wonderfully made!

 

While reflecting on the fall season, I decided to try my hand at poetic prose.

The following is my tribute to the beauty and majesty of God in this season. I entitled this piece, “Not far from the tree.”  I derived the title from the saying, “The apple never falls far from the tree,” which means children tend to reflect the characteristics of their parents. Although there is usually a negative connotation with this saying, I choose to adopt a meaning that connects me to the goodness of my Father. To this end, I found Psalm 139: 14 (ESV) reflects my praise of His works, that is, the beautiful fall foliage, and my gratefulness for the beauty He created as me:

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”

I walk outside and stand under a large Norway maple tree. I look up and observe its tall, firm, stately grace consisting of a thick trunk and branches that seem like benevolent arms reaching out. I appreciate the feel of its shade and gentle breeze stirring its leaves. I take a small step around the tree and notice that my foot touches a leaf on the pavement. I recognize that the leaf comes from this tree, as its color and shape look similar to the leaves still attached. I decide to pick up this leaf and study it. The leaf is a deep, purple color and palmate in shape. It feels smooth and leathery to my touch. I turn the leaf over and observe a branching pattern of veins that spreads throughout the entire leaf. Something inside encourages me to cherish this leaf. Its color is dark in tone, like my own skin, and its palmate shape is like my own hand. I am inspired to cherish the magnificence of God, this tree, this leaf, and His magnificence in me.

You are fearfully and wonderfully made! How would you celebrate yourself and His works? Please share with me on Twitter!

Author: Yvette Williams

I am writer and speaker hailing from Connecticut who writes Christian-themed poetry and prose to inspire and encourage others. I attempt to reveal God's hand in our everyday matters, our profound life experiences, and from the natural world around. As one of my most recent accomplishments, I am a recipient of the Loyd A. Boldman Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to support attendance to the Florida Christian Writers Conference.

Leave a comment